Differentiation: Ye Olde Apple vs Android

Apple and Android are very much in the differentiationAPPLEVSANDROID

game, in fact Apple has historically focused its marketing efforts on building a near cult following that highlights why Apple users are cooler, hipper, even smarter. Android users would disagree, strongly, and would argue that Apple users are not cool and not very smart. When you mix Apple and Android people things can get ugly, with intense one up -manship and insults being thrown, it’s like asking Cowboys and Steelers fans to get along during playoffs, not-gonna-happen.APPLEEATDROIDDROIDEATAPPLE

So what are they arguing about? I don’t speak geek so to be honest I have no clue whether or why an iOS based device is better than an Android based device. Even though I have no real clue I am a diehard Apple user because to me Apple is easier and more user friendly. I stopped trying to explain this to Android users a long time ago because I don’t enjoy 2 hour lectures with PowerPoint presentation explaining just how wrong I am and why I should go to the dark side (Android) immediately. I can’t even get upset because I do the same thing to those poor misguided Android users. No matter whose cult, I mean brand, you believe in one of the spaces you can see a real difference is how they approach and use social media.

Twitter is a good place to compare these two mobile giant’s approach to social media marketing. Android actually has a few Twitter feed accounts, some targeted at the general consumer, others at the app development community, but a common theme is the logo  that has become synonymous with all Android based products.

ANDROID

Android uses fun images and keeps the feed light and friendly, Picture1.

Apple does not have a dedicated Twitter feed for iOS,

only for its app store and its iTunes application, but with dozens of individuals out there building and maintaining Twitter accounts dedicated to all things iOS. Android has many fan created sites as well but does Apple need to be more proactive with its Twitter feed? Is letting the Twitter crowd control this segment of its brand the best option? Is the risk to the brand outweighed by the power of the crowd in an age when we rely more on what our peers tell us about a product, brand, or service than what the company tells us? IOS9Maybe Apple is just a little bit complacent and feels the brand and products stand on their own.

I don’t know if there will ever be a winner in the Android vs Apple wars but it sure be fun to watch!

Leave a comment